Permafrost Displacement Mapping of 10 NWT sites using DInSAR satellite imagery

The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Department of Environment and Natural Resources (ENR), working with their partners, has begun mapping surficial displacement in areas of the NWT through the use of satellite mapping (DInSAR), allowing areas susceptible to permafrost slumping or heaving to be identified across 10 sites. These sites were Tuktoyaktuk, Norman Wells, Fort Simpson, Yellowknife, Tulita, Fort Providence, Hay River, Inuvik, Conoco EL470, and along the Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway.


Mapping permafrost displacement in NWT communities

The GNWT has utilized satelite imaging to map the permafrost distribution within four permafrost rich communities; Inuvik, Tuktoyaktuk, Fort Simpson and Norman Wells. By providing these communities with maps of their permafrost impacted terrain, the GNWT can assist our communities in making more informed decisions in regards to community planning.

Click here for Information Note


Subscribe to RSS - Permafrost